Breaking News
More () »

Results: Who won in the 2020 Kentucky primary election?

After a week of waiting, the unofficial results of the Kentucky Primary election are in.

FRANKFORT, Ky. — After a week of waiting, the results of Kentucky's 2020 Primary Election are in. According to Secretary of State Michael Adams, 85% of the vote came from absentee ballots, with only 15% of voters opting to vote in-person due to the coronavirus pandemic.

President Donald Trump and Democratic candidate Joe Biden won the presidential nominations in the state. 

The most-watched race both locally and nationally was the U.S. Senate race between Democratic candidates Amy McGrath and Charles Booker. The Associated Press has declared McGrath the winner with 100% of precincts reporting. She will face Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell in the November election. 

The full results of the Kentucky Primary Election can be found here.

While the race between McGrath and Booker was put into the spotlight, there were several other races of note in Kentucky. Here are a few of the highlights from Political Editor Chris Williams:

Louisville Metro Council

Members of the Louisville Metro Council have been making some big decisions lately, including an investigation into Mayor Greg Fischer's administration during the completion of the Breonna Taylor case. Many Metro Council seats will go to winners of the primary. 

Here are the unofficial results from the Jefferson County Board of Elections:

District 10: Pat Mulvihill (D) (51%) 

District 18: Mera Corlett (D) (50%) 

District 2: Barbara Shanklin (D) (52%) 

District 20: Stuart Benson (R) (81%) 

District 4: Jecorey Arthur (D) (34%) 

District 8: Cassie Armstrong (D) (62%) 

Kentucky Senate, District 37

David Yates (D) was the favorite for Perry Clark's old seat and that held true in the primary. Yates pulled away from the other candidates to win 67% of the vote. Here are the unofficial results:

David Yates (D) - WINNER (67%)

Katie Brophy (D) (17%)

Garrett Dean (D) (8%)

Di Tran (D) (8%)

Kentucky Senate, District 26

Republican Sen. Ernie Harris' retirement led to this special election between Republican candidate Bill Ferko and Democratic candidate Karen Berg. Here are the unofficial results:

Bill Ferko (R) (42%)

Karen Berg (D) - WINNER (58%)

Berg's victory in District 26, which covers both Jefferson and Oldham County, means a Democrat will take a Republican seat in the Senate.

"There has been no better time for Kentuckians to choose a doctor to send to
Frankfort," Ben Shelf, chair of the Kentucky Democratic Party, said in a statement. 

"Suburban, urban and rural voters are ready for leaders in Frankfort who want to help Governor Beshear address Kentucky’s challenges. I look forward to the great work State Senator-elect Karen Berg will do for Oldham and Jefferson counties."


Kentucky House of Representatives

District 26 (Bullitt, Hardin)

  • Russell Webber - WINNER (80%)
  • Paul Ham

District 27 (Hardin, Meade)

  • Stacy Crosslin 
  • Brian Chism  - WINNER (61%)

District 28 (Jefferson)

  • Charles Miller - WINNER (59%)
  • Ramona Thomas 

District 30 (Jefferson)

  • Tom Burch - WINNER (59%)
  • Daniel Grossberg

District 40 (Jefferson)

  • Nima Kulkarni - WINNER (59%)
  • Dennis Horlander

District 43 (Louisville)

  • David Snardon
  • Pamela Stevenson - WINNER (47%)

District 47 (Carroll, Gallatin, Henry, Trimble)

  • Bobby Foree
  • Felicia Rabourn

District 50 (Nelson)

  • Chad McCoy - WINNER (59%) 
  • Donald Thrasher

District 58 (Shelby)

  • Jennifer Henson Decker - WINNER (75%)
  • Dorothy Coverston Higgins
  • Chris Kleymeyer

District 59 (Oldham)

  • David Osborne - WINNER (78%)
  • Tiffany Dunn

*Note: Not all results are in. Winners will be added as results come in.


Make it easy to keep up-to-date with more stories like this. Download the WHAS11 News app now. For Apple or Android users.

Have a news tip? Email assign@whas11.com, visit our Facebook page or Twitter feed.