Integris Wayman Tisdale Award midseason watch list announced



Posted on January 31, 2013 at 9:24 PM

ST. LOUIS, Mo (USBWA) - The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected 12 outstanding first-year players for its 2013 Integris Wayman Tisdale Award Midseason Watch List. Members of the association's board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the national freshman of the year award.

The award is to be presented to the national freshman of the year at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Oscar Robertson Trophy presented by Aflac and the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

A trio of UCLA Bruins highlights the list that includes four players from the Pac-12 Conference. Bruin teammates Jordan Adams, Kyle Anderson and Shabazz Muhammad join Arizona State's Jahii Carson on the watch list. Also, Michigan teammates Gloenn Robinson III and Nik Stauskas are recognized. Big 12 standouts from three schools were selected as well: Baylor's Isaiah Austin, Kansas' Ben McLemore and Oklahoma State's Marcus Smart.

UNLV's Anthony Bennett, along with McLemore, is also on the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List as a candidate for national player of the year. Rounding out the Tisdale Award watch list are Yogi Ferrell of Indiana and Nerlens Noel of Kentucky.

Following is the complete watch list:

G Jordan Adams, UCLA (6-5, 220, Fr., Atlanta, Ga.)
G Kyle Anderson, UCLA (6-9, 235, Fr., Fairview, N.J.)
C Isaiah Austin, Baylor (7-1, 220, Fr., Arlington, Texas)
F Anthony Bennett, UNLV (6-8, 240, Fr., Brampton, Ont.)
G Jahii Carson, Arizona State (5-10, 175, Fr., Mesa, Ariz.)
G Kevin (Yogi) Ferrell, Indiana (6-0, 178, Fr., Indianapolis, Ind.)
G Ben McLemore, Kansas (6-5, 195, Fr., St. Louis, Mo.)
G/F Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA (6-6, 225, Fr., Las Vegas, Nev.)
F Nerlens Noel, Kentucky (6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.)
F Glenn Robinson III, Michigan (6-6, 210, Fr., St. John, Ind.)
G Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State (6-4, 225, Fr., Flower Mound, Texas)
G Nik Stauskas, Michigan (6-6, 190, Fr., Mississauga, Ont.)

By conference: Pac-12 (4), Big 12 (3), Big Ten (3), Mountain West (1), SEC (1).

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU's Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Kentucky's Anthony Davis became the second winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award. Other notable previous winners of the national freshman of the year award include Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

The Tisdale Award winner will receive a statuette designed by nationally-recognized sculptor Shan Gray. The April 15 banquet will also honor Michigan State coach Tom Izzo as the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award.

The late Wayman Tisdale was a three-time USBWA All-American at the University of Oklahoma. Following a stint on the 1984 U.S. Olympic basketball team, he played 12 seasons in the NBA before retiring in 1997 to focus on a blossoming jazz music career. In March 2007, he was diagnosed with cancer and, following a courageous and difficult battle that included the amputation of his right leg in 2008, he passed away in May 2009.

The Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award is produced by Access Sports, an Oklahoma City-based 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to supporting various charitable causes, including funding prosthetic devices for needy individuals through the Wayman L. Tisdale Foundation, educational scholarships through the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, and funding of youth basketball programs throughout the state of Oklahoma through Wayman's Lightning Basketball League.

Tickets and sponsorship information for the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards are available at the Tisdale Award website,, or by contacting Scott Hill (405-749-1515,

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.