Ky. State University names 15th president

Ky. State University picks new president

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WHAS11) – Kentucky State University has elected a new president.

Dr. M. Christopher Brown was elected to serve as the university’s 15th president, according to their board of regents.

Brown currently serves as provost at Southern University and A&M System in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Brown will replace Dr. Aaron Thompson who served Kentucky State University as interim president since May 2016.

"I am profoundly honored to be named president of Kentucky State University, a revered and important higher education institution that has blazed trails in academia, equality, and higher learning since its founding in 1886," Brown said in a statement.

University officials say they plan to hold meetings and receptions to welcome Brown to their campus. No date has been set. 

© 2017 WHAS-TV


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment