Gold Acorn event honors teens, awards grants


by News Release

Posted on April 14, 2013 at 3:01 PM

LOUISVILLE Ky. (News Release) -- The Community Foundation of Southern Indiana’s Youth Philanthropy Council held its Gold Acorn Celebration event on Sunday, April 14, at 1 p.m. at The Grand in New Albany. The Council awards grants to programs that involve youth to area nonprofit organizations and honors youth volunteers in Clark and Floyd counties at this annual event.

The Youth Philanthropy Council is comprised of students working with adult volunteers who mentor the youth in community needs and leadership. The YPC is designed to involve young people in meaningful ways, to encourage them to give and serve in their communities and to make philanthropy a habit for future generations. High school students are nominated for membership on the YPC during the summer and begin participation in the fall. Students attend workshops to help educate and engage them in the world of philanthropy, followed by a grant cycle in which non-profit organizations apply for grants and recipients are selected by members of the YPC.

Programs receiving grants were:

Boys and Girls Clubs of Kentuckiana received a grant for Ed Endres Boys & Girls Club Keystone Club Community Services, whose mission is “to inspire and enable all young people, especially those most in need of our services, to realize and develop their full potential as productive, responsible and caring citizens.”

Clark County Youth Shelter & Family Services received a grant for arts and activities. The grant will allow youth in crisis an outlet to express anger, pain, frustration, creativity, inquisitiveness and enthusiasm through art projects and/or off-site activities.

Hope Southern Indiana received a grant for Pack the Bus. This project provides backpacks filled with school supplies to low income families with children in kindergarten through eighth grade. The program is offered as part of the national Pack the Bus collaboration.

Miles for Merry Miracles received a grant to provide assistance to less fortunate families and their children during the Christmas season. The organization provides shoes, toys, clothes, $25 Kroger gift cards, a Christmas dinner and a bag full of groceries.

New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation received a grant for the Floyd Central High School Dance Marathon to Benefit Riley Children’s Hospital. The benefit is projected to raise close to $30,000 for Riley’s Children’s Hospital, the only comprehensive children’s hospital in Indiana.

Open Door Youth Services received a grant for its New Directions Summer Adventure Programs – Kids Against Tobacco. Open Door Youth Services exists to serve, empower and promote the healthy development of children and youth in Floyd County.

Rock Creek Community Academy received a grant for its Lions Club Reading Club. The grant will support a reading mentor program where high school students will regularly read with younger students in grades K-5, ultimately helping to build stronger vocabulary and language development.

Voices 4 Youth received a grant for its Voices 4 Youth Art Therapy Class. This class will focus on self-expression through painting, and teaching the youth how to make good choices when dealing with their feelings and emotions.

West Clark Community Schools received a grant for Borden Elves, a program that provides supplies to create handmade toys for the needy at Christmas, which are then donated to the Salvation Army each year.

Youth For Christ received a grant for programs that will help youth make good choices, establish a solid foundation for life, and strive to lead a balanced life-mentally, physically, spiritually and socially.

In addition to awarding grants, the Gold Acorn Celebration gives non-profit organizations an opportunity to honor youth for their volunteer work. The names of the youth, followed by the organizations which honored them, are below.

Nicollette Barreras, Floyd Central Star Boosters

Alyssa Book, Floyd Central High School

Shelbi Bostock, Hope Southern Indiana

Brent Drew-Wolak, YMCA of Southern Indiana

Leilani Fullmer, Floyd Central Star Singers

Bryson Koch, Floyd County Teen Court

Sophia Palmer, Miles for Merry Miracles

Carli Pendleton, March2Recovery

Clair Slusser, Our Lady of Providence Jr./Sr. High School

Members of the YPC were also recognized for their participation during the 2012-2013 school year. The names and schools of the students are listed below.

Jiffy Bishop, Jeffersonville High School

Davis Elliott, Jeffersonville High School

Emilee Flispart, Jeffersonville High School

Julia Gillenwater, Silver Creek High School

Jenna Gilley, Providence High School

Sara Gryboski, Providence High School

Adaline Heitz, Floyd Central High School

Emily Hoffer, New Albany High School

Jacqueline Hornung, Providence High School

Savannah Hunter, New Albany High School

Emily Kunkel, Floyd Central High School

Jessica McCormick, Jeffersonville High School

Parker McCullough, Floyd Central High School

Shelby Moore, Jeffersonville High School

Stephen Neal, Silver Creek High School

Cailie Peredo, Floyd Central High School

Regan Platt, Floyd Central High School

Morgan Reilly, Jeffersonville High School

Jack Reilly, Jeffersonville High School

Temple Ricke, New Albany High School

Mitch Traylor, Silver Creek High School