JCPS teachers, administrators honored


Posted on May 31, 2013 at 12:15 PM

Hilliard Lyons was pleased to present its first Excellence Awards program recognizing outstanding Jefferson Country Public Schools (JCPS) educators in the 2012-13 school year. 
Recipients were honored at a May 30 ceremony in the KFC Yum! Center’s Spirit Room. Each winning teacher and principal received $1,000 for his or her school.


University of Louisville President James Ramsey, whose parents were JCPS teachers, gave the keynote address, while U.S. Representative John Yarmuth, Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer, Hilliard Lyons CEO Jim Allen, and JCPS Superintendent Donna Hargens provided remarks.
Allen, who is also the current chair of the Jefferson County Public Education Foundation, noted that “Hilliard Lyons places a high priority on educational attainment and recognizes the valuable roles that our teachers and principals play in the process.”
Supporting education is Allen’s passion, as exhibited through his tireless efforts with the Foundation. His commitment to students and their teachers resulted in the creation of these awards, which celebrate innovation and dedication to the district’s goal of improving academic achievement through Strategic Plan: Vision 2015 strategies.


Allen himself received the inaugural Jim Allen Award created by JCPS to recognize outstanding individuals who are committed to public education, have achieved the highest levels of success, and have become a person of value and a role model for all students. Hargens surprised Allen with the award’s debut at the conclusion of the evening.


“While there are many people in this room who deserve our gratitude for making this evening possible, none are more deserving then Mr. Jim Allen,” she said. “Jim is dedicated to supporting our children’s education and helping JCPS achieve its goal of having the country’s best urban school district.”


The five teachers and five principals who received Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards are also striving for that goal. Additionally, five Professional Learning Communities (PLCs) received awards. A PLC is a cohort of teachers sharing academic data and best practices with each other with the purpose of tailoring instruction for a group of students or an individual student in order to improve achievement.
Other community organizations sponsored additional awards in special categories:
·   The YMCA Award for Youth Development
·   The Fund for the Arts Collaborative Arts Award
·   The Audwin & Rae Helton Award
·   The Ernst & Young Accounting/Business High School Educator Award
·   The Metro United Way Out-of-School-Time Excellence Award
·   The Junior Achievement Teacher Award

Nominations were submitted from throughout the JCPS system. Teachers at all grade levels were eligible. A team of business and community leaders reviewed the nominations and selected the winners. Teachers were nominated by their principals. Principals were nominated by assistant superintendents.
A complete list of winners follows:



Elementary School PLC* Award

Lincoln Elementary Performing Arts School

Nannette Jones, Courtney Smith, Mary Anne Mattingly, Sheila Riley,
Lisa Goins, Michael Ice


Middle School PLC* Award

Westport Middle School

Jenny Napier, Melissa Shearon, Jerusha Coleman, Heather Weis, Sarah Yost


High School PLC* Award

Central High School Magnet Career Academy

Michelle Timmerman, Ryan Davis, T’Andrea Mayes


Southern High School

Tim Blythe, Nate Jebsen, Carl Johnson, Chris Kaufman, Matt Ignash,

Randi Stearman, Rebecca Cull, Kristina Sheldon, Robin Klein, Amanda McFarland-Smith, Kelly Dearmond, Carly Speigel, Kanna Edison, Julie Smith, Mary Curtis, Alison Moore



Westport Teenage Parent Program

Jessica White, Michael Bell, Cortnea Schuster, Juliette Brewster


Elementary School Teacher Award

Luhr Elementary School

Karen Kruger


Tully Elementary School

Laura Keeling


Middle School Teacher Award

Olmsted Academy North

Mary McCarty


High School Teacher Award

Waggener High School

Jennifer Powell


The Brook KMI

Justin Meek


Elementary School Principal Award

Crums Lane Elementary School

Anna Byrd


Middle School Principal Award

Farnsley Middle School

Rob Stephenson


High School Principal Award

Fern Creek Traditional High School

Houston Barber


Jeffersontown High School

Marty Pollio


Seneca High School

Michelle Dillard




Audwin & Rae Helton Award

Fairdale Elementary School

Bianca Nightengale-Lee



Ernst & Young Accounting/Business High School Educator Award

Southern High School

Tom Watson



Junior Achievement Teacher Award

Pleasure Ridge Park High School
Jamie Baxter

LEEP Coordinator


Fund for the Arts Collaborative Arts Award

Hartstern Elementary School

Debbie Rutledge Lockyear

Arts and Humanities Teacher


Metro United Way Out-of-School-Time
Excellence Award

Klondike Lane Elementary School

Christine Deely


YMCA Award for Youth Development

Tully Elementary School

John Ansman