WKU's Jackson named preseason Defensive Player of the Year

WKU's Jackson named preseason Defensive Player of the Year

WKU's Jackson named preseason Defensive Player of the Year


by WHAS11 / News Release


Posted on July 15, 2013 at 4:43 PM

NEW ORLEANS, La. – WKU junior linebacker Andrew Jackson was named the 2013 Preseason Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year and four Hilltoppers were named to the 2013 Preseason All-Sun Belt Team, it was announced Monday at Sun Belt Conference Media Day by the league office.

The selections were made in a vote by the league’s eight head coaches and eight selected media members.

Jackson led WKU in tackles (122), forced fumbles (4) and quarterback hits (3) in 2012. He was named first-team All-Sun Belt Conference for the second-straight season, leading the Hilltoppers in tackling on six different occasions, making him WKU’s leading tackler in 14 of the last 26 games he has played. His 17.5 tackles for loss ranked second on the team behind sack artist Quanterus Smith’s 18.5. Smith was named the Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year in 2012.

Senior running back Antonio Andrews was named an All-Sun Belt Team selection at running back and as a return specialist. Andrews led the NCAA in all-purpose yardage a year ago. In addition to Andrews selection, senior offensive lineman Sean Conway was named to the preseason All-Sun Belt Team. Conway is a preseason watch list selection for the Rimington Trophy, given to the nation’s top center. On the defensive side of the ball, Jackson and senior defensive back Jonathan Dowling earned All-Sun Belt team honors. Dowling is also a preseason watch list selection for the Jim Thorpe Award, given annually to the nation’s top defensive back.

In a survey of the league’s eight coaches, WKU was picked to finish fourth in the Sun Belt Conference behind co-favorites Louisiana-Lafayette and Louisiana-Monroe and Arkansas State.  WKU was just one point from being in the third spot in an 8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 voting system.

Season tickets for the 2013 home football schedule are on sale now through WKUSports.com, by visiting the WKU Ticket Office in E.A. Diddle Arena or by calling 1-800-5 BIG RED.

In addition to season tickets, single game tickets for the game with Kentucky in Nashville on Aug. 31 at 6:00 p.m. CT are currently on sale. Tickets are priced at $67 for club level, $47 for lower level sideline, $32 for upper sideline and $22 for upper corner. To ensure seating in the WKU fan sections, all fans are encouraged to order tickets through the WKU Ticket Office. General public tickets may be ordered online at WKUSports.com or by calling 1-800-5-BIG RED or 270-745-5222 locally. Parking passes for this game may be ordered through Ticketmaster.com or through the WKU Ticket Office. The first 4,000 WKU students at the game on August 31 with a valid ID will receive a free ticket to the game. After 4,000, student tickets will be $13.

For complete coverage of WKU Football, visit www.wkusports.com, or follow the program on Twitter via @WKU_Football or @CoachPetrinoWKU.

Upcoming WKU Football Calendar of Events

July 18 – Big Red Rally & Reveal at Greenwood Mall from 6:00-8:00 p.m. CT
August 4 – Players Report
August 5 – First Practice
August 10 – WKU Football Media Day [Closed to Public]
August 17 – Football Fan Fest (formerly Family Fun Day) at Knicely Conference Center on WKU’s South Campus from 2-4pm CT
August 31 – WKU vs. Kentucky at LP Field in Nashville, Tenn. at 6:00 p.m. CT

2013 Preseason Sun Belt Poll
As voted on by the league’s eight head coaches. 
First place votes in parentheses.
T-1. Louisiana-Lafayette 57 (4)
T-1. Louisiana-Monroe 57 (2)
3. Arkansas State 45 (2)
4. WKU 44
5. Troy 35
6. Texas State 23
7. South Alabama 19
8. Georgia State 8

2013 Preseason All-Sun Belt Team
As voted on by the league’s eight head coaches and eight selected media members.


Kolton Browning (Louisiana-Monroe, Sr., QB)
David Oku (Arkansas State, Sr., RB) 
Antonio Andrews (WKU, Sr., RB)
J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, So., WR)
Je’Ron Hamm (ULM, Sr., WR)
Eric Thomas (Troy, Sr. WR)
Wes Saxton (South Alabama, Jr., TE)
Bryce Giddens (Arkansas State, So., OL)
Andre Huval (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., OL)
Josh Allen (Louisiana-Monroe, Sr., OL)
Terrence Jones (Troy, Jr., OL)
Sean Conway (WKU, Sr., OL)

Ryan Carrethers (Arkansas State, Sr., DL)
Christian Ringo (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., DL)
Kentarius Caldwell (Louisiana-Monroe, Sr., DL)
Alex Page (South Alabama, Sr., DL)
Qushaun Lee (Arkansas State, Jr., LB)
Justin Anderson (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., LB)
Andrew Jackson (WKU, Jr., LB)
Sterling Young (Arkansas State, Jr., DB)
Isaiah Newsome (Louisiana-Monroe, Sr., DB)
Tyrell Pearson (South Alabama, Sr., DB)
Jonathan Dowling (WKU, Sr., DB)

Special Teams
Brian Davis (Arkansas State, Sr., K) 
Will Scott (Troy, Sr., P)
Antonio Andrews (WKU, Sr., Return Specialist)

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year
Kolton Browning (Louisiana-Monroe, Sr., QB)

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year

Andrew Jackson (WKU, Jr., LB)