Political Blog

Find posts by keyword
Find posts by date


We are the (Mongiardo) World

We are the (Mongiardo) World

Dan Mongiardo

by Joe Arnold


Posted on February 20, 2010 at 10:05 AM

Updated Saturday, Feb 20 at 9:48 AM

They are not recording an album, but fifty of Daniel Mongiardo's supporters in Jefferson County, including several prominent Democrats, are singing his praises today.  And nearly as important as "who" is endorsing Mongiardo is "where" they are endorsing him, in Jack Conway's hometown.

Many of the fifty endorsements announced today had already been announced, yet several are making news, including Former Democratic Leader of the KY State Senate, David Karem, four Metro Council members and four of Jefferson County’s Previous Democratic Party Chairs.

Yet, some of the endorsements are less impressive, such as the Jefferson County "B" District Commissioner, Alex Clements, who serves in a job that is now defunct after city/county merger in 2001. 

Expect something like this from the Mongiardo campaign outstate as the primary heats up:  "Even the Democratic Leaders in Jack Conway's hometown are supporting Mongiardo....."

Louisville's top Democrat, however, Mayor Jerry Abramson is endorsing Conway, as are U.S. Rep. John Yarmuth and one time congressional candidate Lt. Col. Andrew Horne.


Here is the release from the Mongiardo campaign:


February 20, 2010


Louisville Leaders Endorse Mongiardo for Senate
Supporters Include All Four Jefferson County Democratic State Senators,
House Speaker Pro-Tem, Louisville’s Longest Serving Legislator,
Four Metro Council Members, Mayor of Shively, Louisville Labor Leaders, Women Activists & four of Jefferson County’s Previous Dem. Party Chairs

FRANKFORT – In an impressive display of political strength in his Primary opponent’s backyard, Lt. Governor and Democratic U.S. Senate candidate Daniel Mongiardo announced today that he has received public endorsements from 50 influential local and state legislators, community leaders, labor officials and political activists in Louisville / Jefferson County.

Political leaders from Louisville announcing their support for Mongiardo include Louisville’s highest ranking state representative, House Speaker Pro-Tem Larry Clark, 100% of all Democratic State Senators serving Jefferson County – Denise Harper Angel, Perry Clark, Gerald Neal and Tim Shaughnessy, as well as Louisville’s longest serving legislator, House Health & Welfare Committee Chair, State Representative Tom Burch.

Local elected officials publicly endorsing Mongiardo include Shively Mayor Sherry Conner and Louisville-Metro Council members – Dan Johnson, Judith Greene, Barbara Shanklin and Brent Ackerson. 

Mongiardo’s public endorsements include four of Jefferson County’s previous Democratic Party (JCDP) Chairs.  In addition to House Speaker Pro-Tem Larry Clark, other JCDP Chairs include *Tim Longmeyer, Steve Horner and Melvin Ratchford. 

Mongiardo said, “I am grateful and honored to have the support of so many community leaders and grassroots activists from Louisville.  These are the people who work hard every day to make a difference in their community and improve the lives of those they serve.  Their willingness to publicly stand with me sends a strong and clear message to every Kentucky voter and political observers everywhere that we have a true statewide grassroots organization that is strongly positioned to contest for every vote in every county of our Commonwealth – including Louisville/Jefferson County.”

Other community leaders and political activists from Louisville/Jefferson County publicly endorsing Mongiardo include:

Margaret Harris – President, Kentucky Women’s Political Caucus
David Karem – Former State Senator and Democratic Leader of the KY State Senate
Eleanor Jordan – Former State Representative and Dem. nominee for U.S. Congress
Danny Ross – Former Senior Advisor to Governor Paul Patton and Retired Labor Leader
Greg Reddington –Former Senior Assistant to Louisville Mayor Jerry Abramson
Larry Bond – Former Chief of Staff – Jefferson Co. Judge Executive Dave Armstrong
Virginia Woodward – Former Executive Director, Kentucky Commission on Women
Larry O’Bryan – Democratic Strategist and Political Consultant
Robert Holmes III – Community Youth Organizer and Lou/Jefferson African-American Coordinator for Mongiardo Campaign
*Clarence Yancey – JCDP, 43rd Legislative District Chairman and community activist
*Bill Johnson – JCDP, 42nd Legislative District At-Large Member and Labor Activist
Aaron Horner – Former Campaign Manager – Cong. John Yarmuth’s 2006 Campaign
Lisa Tanner – Former Field Director – Congressman Yarmuth’s 2008 Campaign
Sandy Berman – Attorney and AIPAC activist
Chris Tobe – Financial Consultant
Nikki Jackson – Business Woman / Attorney
Dave Swindler, Businessman & Avid Sportsman
Alex Clements - Jefferson County ‘B’ District Commissioner
Roger Baum – Business Manager, UA Local 502
Bill Finn – Business Manager, IBEW Local 369
Lawrence Winburn – Business Manager, LIUNA Local 576
John Brothers – District Rep, IUOE Local 181
David ‘Doc’ Gahafer – Business Agent, Road Sprinkler Fitters Local 669
Curtis Stratton – Business Manager, IBEW Local 2100
Ray Crider – Retired, National AFL-CIO Political Department and Democratic activist
Marilyn Crider – Democratic Party activists
George Boyd – Machinist & Board Member, Greater Louisville Central Labor Council
Frank Leidermann – Democratic Activist and Democratic Consultant
*Allison Newman-Amon – Vice Chair, JCDP
Jeff Barr – 32nd LD Coordinator for Mongiardo Campaign
Bobbi Jo Weber – Former President of Lou/Metro Women’s Political Caucus / Business Owner
*John Crawford – JCDP 40th Legislative District Chair
Bill Herron - Democratic Activist and 41st LD Coordinator for Mongiardo Campaign
*Pamela Osborne – JCDP 42nd LD Vice Chair
*Stephen Fein – JCDP 44th Legislative District Chair
*John Sommer – JCDP 46th Legislative District Chair

* Any endorsement by a current Jefferson County Democratic Party (JCDP) official is a reflection of his/her personal view and not as a JCDP official.